Even Exchange #haibun #npm17 #napowrimo2017

First day back from Spring break. Ninth-graders filter in to our fourth-period class, talking non-stop.

While I struggle to distribute handouts, I catch a glimpse of Paris and Hannah talking with my team-teacher, Verna. I hear her say, “it’s fine with me, but go, ask him.”

They head toward me.

Paris speaks first. Her face holds an earnest, hopeful expression. “Can we sit together since we’re seeing a movie,” she asks, adding, “We won’t talk.”

I had separated the two of them for never being quiet. Still, the day’s lesson is a movie-to-novel comparison, so I will be showing them a film. And I need distributers.

I smile. “Pass these out for me, and you have a deal.”

They split my pile between them and canvas the room in seconds.

team teacher’s smile

“they were so sure

you’d say, ‘No!'”

Leave a Reply

